Home > Uncategorized > One Final Post

One Final Post


I am reminded of the motto from The Truman Show–“How’s it going to end?”  Jen just peeked over my shoulder and quietly noted, “Woah. The end of the end.”  I guess it is time.

In a single picture, this is Connor.

I first started this blog to record our experiences as our life drastically changed, and to keep in touch with family and friends afar.  I quickly came to find that this blog served that purpose, and so much more.  Time and time again, I am greeted by friends, family, co-workers, and people who I haven’t spoken to in years with a welcome of: “I just love your blog!”  As I flip back through my past posts, I laugh, I cry, I thank God that we have survived, I marvel at how much Connor has already grown.  In the past year, I have experienced what feels like a lifetime of emotions.  This blog marks the highlights of the most remarkable year Jen or I have ever experienced. 

Upon seeing the initial enjoyment generated by the blog, I pledged to blog for the first year of Connor’s life.  I am happy that I have achieved that goal.  There was a time this summer when I thought that since the blog had been so much fun and so successful that I would just keep going after Connor’s first birthday, but as his birthday neared, I found myself with less and less free time and less and less desire to spend what little free time I had on the blog.  Therefore, I have decided to make this my final post…at least for now.

I would like to thank everyone for the incredible feedback you have always provided.  The truth is, you guys kept this going for a year.  I probably would have given up on this long ago without your support.  Instead, Jen and I now have this awesome collection of thoughts, feelings, and experiences to always look back on.

To my wife, you are an amazing wife, mother, and person.  I am so thankful to have you by my side, as my partner in life with whom to experience this all with.  I love you.

Connor, at his second first birthday party in Pittsburgh. His mouth had already been partly cleaned up.

To Connor, I am continually surprised and dumbfounded at my past naivety concerning how much I love you.  I once told a friend that having a child is the most incredible experience imagineable.  You get married and you think that you could never love anyone as much as you love that person, and then you look upon your own child and you hold him in your arms for the first time, and instantly someone exists who rivals, and in some ways surpasses, that love.  In my life, that person is you, Connor.  God willing, your mother and I have many days ahead of us as your parents.  Some of them will be good, and some of them will undoubtedly be very challenging.  Know that I am already praying for guidance and patience for those challenging days, just as I am already praising and thanking God for the good ones.  Upon the conclusion of this post, I plan to print a copy of this blog that will be saved and given to you at an appropriate time in the distant future, though I don’t yet know when that might be.  I trust that I will some how know when it is time.  In some way, I hope that the reading of these stories will be as enjoyable for you as they have been for all of us, for it is your story as much as it is ours.  I also hope this will allow you to better know your parents and to remind you of just how much we love you.  I am so excited to see what life has in store for you and for all of us.

In closing tonight, I will quote a song that has been playing relentlessly in my head for the past few weeks.  For Christmas, Jen bought Connor a baby DVD.  I was skeptical, but Connor absolutely loves it.  He sits on our lap as still as a statue when it plays.  I pretty much detest kiddy music, but the music on this DVD is tolerable.  There is one song, in particular however, that Jen and I actually really like.  It’s now one of Connor’s favorite songs too, and is my new go-to song whenever he is fussy or crying.  As I just discovered, it’s actually a cover of a Bruce Springsteen song.  I love it because as I sing the song, I picture a father summoning his son for a grand adventure together.  To where?  The objective is uncertain, but in truth, it does not matter.  That is very much the way I picture the two of us at this moment, with a long life of adventure before us that we have yet to experience.  The specifics of that future are unknown, but I am excited, beyond excited, that it will be together.

Pony boy, pony boy, won’t you be my pony boy?
Giddy-up, giddy-up, giddy-up, whoa, my pony boy.

Ride with me, ride with me, won’t you take a ride with me?
Underneath the starry sky, my pony boy.

Over the hills and through the trees, we’ll go ridin’ you and me.
Giddy-up, giddy-up, giddy-up, whoa, my pony boy.

Down into the valley deep; ‘neath the eaves we will sleep.
Sky of dreams up above, my pony boy.

Me and my Pony Boy.

  1. February 18, 2012 at 10:57 pm

    So sad to see this come to an end, but it is understandable. Printing this blog for Connor is a wonderful idea and will be so special to him, I’m sure. Mike, you have a great talent for writing so I hope you can keep it up in some way, at least for yourselves. You are a beautiful family and I wish you all the best with your adventures ahead!

  2. Jackie
    February 18, 2012 at 11:17 pm

    Super sad to lose this connection to you guys! Thanks for a year plus of stories and laughter! It was always a highlight to read about you adventures with Connor! 🙂

  3. Candy
    February 19, 2012 at 9:17 am

    It will be sad to lose this connection to Connor. it is so cool that you have done this and he will be able to have this year in his life documented. I hope you have some special blogs now & then. and i hope that when a second child may come that we can live that first year also. thank you for sharing the wonderful life of your family and i am glad i could become part of your family. Until the next time, enjoy your time with Conner and Jen. Love to you all!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

